Jt Comm on Budget & Appropriations Process Reform

The Joint Select Committee on Budget and Appropriations Process Reform was established by the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018, which was signed into law on February 9, 2018. A bipartisan and bicameral panel tasked with considering and recommending reforms to the current budgeting and appropriations processes in Congress, the committee was comprised of 16 members, equally divided between the House and Senate. Four members each were appointed by the Speaker of the House, the Senate Majority Leader, the House Democratic Leader, and the Senate Democratic Leader. House Budget Committee Chairman Steve Womack (R-AR) and House Appropriations Ranking Member Nita Lowey (D-NY) were co-chairs of the panel.

Joint Committee Developments:

  • May 9, 2018 Hearing:
    • G. William Hoagland, Senior Vice President, Bipartisan Policy Center, U.S. Senate staff, 1982-2007 | Testimony 
    • Donald R. Wolfensberger, Fellow, Bipartisan Policy Center, Fellow, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Staff Director, House Rules Committee, 1991-1997 | Testimony | ​Supplemental Statement
    • Emily Holubowich, PDF iconTestimony
    • Matt Owens, Vice President for Federal Relations and Administration, Association of American Universities, PDF iconTestimony
    • You Tube video of hearing
  • April 17, 2018:  Joint Committee holds first hearing.
  • March 8, 2018:  first meeting held, with some discussion reportedly being given to shifting the start of the fiscal year from October 1 to January 1.
    • Background:  The fiscal year used to begin July 1, due to Congress’ long summer recesses to avoid sweltering DC heat prior to air conditioning.  The 1974 Budget Act provided more time, shifting the start of the fiscal year to October 1.  It is not unlikely that Congress will now move the fiscal year to January 1, given the plethora of continuing resolutions (CRs).

About the Joint Committee

  • Joint Committee website
  • As called for in the Bipartisan Budget Act. Congress has launched a new “Joint Select Committee on Budget and Appropriations Process Reform.”
  • Congressional leaders have appointed 4 Republicans and 4 Democrats from each chamber:
    • House Republicans:  Budget Chair Womack (R-AR); Rules Chair Sessions (R-TX); Woodall (R-GE); and Arrington (R-TX).
    • House Democrats: Appropriations Ranking Lowey (D-NY); Budget Ranking Yarmuth (D-KY); Roybal-Allard (D-CA); and Kilmer (D-WA).
    • Senate Republicans:  Vice Chair of Rep. Conf. Blunt (R-Mo.); Perdue (R-Ga.);  Lankford (R-Okla.); and Ernst (R-Iowa).
    • Senate Democrats: Whitehouse (D-RI);  Bennet (D-CO); Brian Schatz (D-HA); and Hirono (D-HA).
  • The bipartisan committee is co-chaired by Steve Womack (R-AR) and Nita Lowey (D-NY).

Guide to Budget Process Reform

Key Budget Process Components

Links to Key Budget Process Reform Proposals

Other Resources on Budget Process Reform 

Contact FBG for appropriations, budget, and tax research, analysis, drafting, and expert guidance:
Email:  help@www.appropriations.com |
Phone:  +1 (202) 419-3506 |

Federal Budget Group LLC, Charles S. Konigsberg JD, President  | 1333 New Hampshire Ave NW STE 340B
Washington DC 20036-1564 | +1 (202) 419-3506 | ckonigsberg@federalbudgetgroup.com